Watch This Week’s Total Solar Eclipse Online

News

By: / November 12, 2012

Though most of us won’t be able to witness it in person, there will be a rare total solar eclipse this Tuesday (Nov. 13).

It will most likely only be visible to spectators in certain parts of northern Australia. However, the rest of the world can watch live streams starting at 3:35 p.m. EST (2035 GMT) on Tuesday.

You can watch the full thing right here.

Yahoo News Reports:

The online Slooh Space Camera is one such outfit. It will broadcast a live feed of the 2012 total solar eclipse from a site near the city of Cairns, in the Australian state of Queensland, starting at 2:30 p.m. EST (1930 GMT) Tuesday. The eclipse will commence around sunrise local time, making for a particularly memorable spectacle, Slooh officials said. You can access Slooh’s broadcast at http://www.slooh.com.

“We are ecstatic to have a world-class team on-site in Cairns bringing the power and beauty of this spectacular event live to our worldwide audience,” Slooh president Patrick Paolucci said in a statement. “We are ramped up and ready to go to handle millions of viewers.” [Video: Watch Path of Nov. 13-14 Total Solar Eclipse]

Parts of Asia, the Pacific and western North America experienced an annular or “ring of fire” eclipse in May. The next total solar eclipse darkens the North Atlantic region in March 2015, though a “hybrid” eclipse — which shifts between total and annular at different points on the globe — will come to parts of the Atlantic and central Africa in November 2013.

Warning: If you are planning to watch the total solar eclipse in person, be extremely careful. Never look directly at the sun, either with the naked eye or through telescopes or binoculars without the proper filters. To safely view solar eclipses, you can purchase special solar filters or No. 14 welder’s glass to wear over your eyes. Standard sunglasses will NOT provide sufficient protection.