V Exclusive! MTV2 to Bring ‘Sucker Free Countdown’ International in 2012

 Today, MTV2 announced plans to launch their “Sucker Free Countdown” internationally in early 2012. Next year, viewers from all over the globe will be able to get the full Sucker Free experience.

Immediately following the first “Sucker Free Awards,” MTV2 will feature the return of one of hip-hop’s most celebrated and influential music franchises ever with “MTV2 Presents: Yo! MTV Raps Classic Cuts,” including an all new theme song remixed by DJ Premier.

The 30-minute retrospective special will take viewers back to the era that helped shape and define hip-hop as the dominant music form that it is today, including interviews with former hosts Fab 5 Freddy, Ed Lover and Doctor Dré, and appearances by the masterminds behind the three classic cuts – Scenario by A Tribe Called Quest, My Mind’s Playing Tricks on Me by Geto Boys and It Was A Good Day by Ice Cube.

“To be asked to recreate the ‘Yo! MTV Raps’ intro for its return in this 21st Century is an honor,” said DJ Premier. “I remember being a guest on that show as a member of Gang Starr and the whole Hip Hop Community tuned in religiously every week. Ted Demme did a great thing for our culture. Love to Fab 5 Freddy, Ed Lover & Doctor Dré.”
The first-ever “Sucker Free Awards” will feature appearances by hip-hop hit makers Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Funk Flex, Tyler the Creator, DJ Drama, Affion Crocket, Ace Hood, Red Cafe, Lil Twist, Mavado and Tyga, as well as comedian Kevin Hart, “Jersey Shore” star DJ Pauly D, Charlamagne Tha God and Miss Info. These artists join previously announced “Sucker Free Awards” performers Lil Wayne and Birdman, DJ Irie and guest commentator DJ Khaled.

Hosted by MTV’s Sway Calloway, the “Sucker Free Awards” will look back at the year in hip hop and honor the best in 2011 with a performance taped at LIV Fontainebleau Miami Beach. A total of seven crowns will be awarded in categories including “Artist of the Year,” “Classic Album of the Year,” “Must Follow Artist in Social Media,” “Rookie of the Year,” “Best Crew of 2011,” “Club Banger” and “Who’s Got Next.” DJ Envy will also be on hand throughout the night to give fans the VIP treatment from the heart of the action.

Watch the big show on Sunday, December 4th at 11pm ET/PT.