R&B’s Biggest Songwriters Honored at 2012 Sesac Pop Awards


A-list stars and the industry’s biggest songwriters decorated New York’s Skylight SoHo for the 16th annual SESAC Pop Awards.

The ceremony honors the performing rights organization’s biggest talents with producer/songwriter Rico Love named the big winner of Friday night’s event. Taking home the Songwriter of the Year Award, Love has created such chart-topping singles as Beyonce’s “Sweet Dreams” and Usher’s “There Goes My Baby” among many others. The latter actually presented the honor to Love himself while songstress Melanie Fiona perfomed “4:00 A.M.,” also composed by Love.

Songwriter Jacob Lutrell scored Songwriter of the Year honors for his Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You),” the dancefloor hit by Enrique Iglesias.

Grammy-winning producer heavyweight Bryan Michael-Cox was also recognized for his music contributions and humanitarian efforts with the prestigious Inspiration Award. Known for his work with Mariah Carey, Usher and Mary J Blige, he is currently collaborating with Rico Love on projects for Kelly Rowland, Tierra Mari and Trey Songz.

More than 400 decorated songwriters, publishers and industry professionals attended the 2012 awards celebration. Other attendees including Terrence J, Greg Curtis, Angela Hunte and Traci Hale with were over 40 songwriter and publisher award recipients in the categories of Pop, R&B/Hip-Hop, and Rock.

The Nashville-based SESAC is a service organization responsible for royalty collection and music licensing of songwriters and producers.