Daft Punk’s New LP ‘Random Access Memories’ Drops May 21

It’s time to celebrate and dance so free.

It’s been eight long years since the last Daft Punk studio LP, but the Frenchmen — Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter — will return with their fourth effort, Random Access Memories, on May 21.

The DJ’s last LP was was 2005’s Human After All. Sure, there’s been the intermittent movie soundtrack, remix, live album, and, if you were lucky enough, concert gig or festival headlinging spot, but considering Human After All’s stripped-down aesthetic in comparison to 2001’s otherworldly rager Discovery, the stakes are high for this new 13-track Daft Punk album. Rumored collaborators range from songwriting Muppets guru Paul Williams (“The Rainbow Connection”) to disco guitarist Nile Rodgers.

Daft Punk have been coy about their new album. At the end of February, they hinted their signing to Columbia on their website and Facebook page by a new band photo displaying the record label’s logo in the corner. Activity picked up from there. A 15-second promo aired during Saturday Night Live on March 2 that previewed a snippet of a new track.

The Random Access Memories album title and release date were released today (March 23) thanks to the iTunes pre-order page that listed 13 new tracks running the span of 74 minutes, only a week ago.

Pick up the pre-order and then go gloss up the disco ball.