Coachella 2013: Daft Punk Recruit Pharrell, Julian Casablancas for New Album

Friday night at Coachella, between the Yeah Yeah Yeahs set and headliners Blur the video screen on the fest’s main stage had an important message for fans. Many festival go-ers missed it because they were taking a leak or refilling on $9 beers that you can’t take out of the beer tent or too drunk to notice, but luckily there’s the Internet for those folks.

The message was from Daft Punk, an act not even on the Coachella bill this year. A short music video promo played the French duo’s new single “Get Lucky,” also starring Pharrell WIlliams as lead vocalist and Nile Rodgers on guitar. The barely two-minute interruption revealed the guest stars of Daft Punk’s new album Random Access Memories in alphabetical order: Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, DJ Falcon, Chilly Gonzalez, Giorgio Moroder, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams, and, last but not least, Pharrell Williams.

The “Get Lucky” video promo recalls Michael Jackson’s “Rock With You” era. The group, including the DJ duo, Pharrell and Rodgers, all don shiny jackets with Williams hitting the “Get Lucky” high note with his falsetto.

“I feel like I’m working with people who grew up with me and feel it the same way we felt the vibe when we were creating this stuff,” Rodgers recently said of working with Daft Punk. “It’s like they went back to go forward.”

Daft Punk’s new single “Get Lucky” will debut this coming Monday, April 15. Random Access Memories touches down on Earth on May 21. Full Coachella promo below.