John Legend, Alicia Keys And More Featured On ’12 Years A Slave’ Soundtrack


Columbia Records has announced that the soundtrack to Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave will be released digitally on November 5th, followed by a physical release set for November 19.

Nine-time Grammy Award winner John Legend was assigned the task of curating the project, in conjunction with legendary film composer Hans Zimmer. Music From And Inspired By 12 Years A Slave includes 16 tracks influenced by the plight of the main character Solomon Northup – played by Chiwetel Ejiofor.

Ejifor and the cast are also featured on the song “Roll Jordan Roll,” which they perform during one of the many compelling scenes in the film. Legend also rounded up an all-star lineup for the album, that includes Alicia Keys, Gary Clarke Jr., Chris Cornell, Cody Chestnutt and the Alabama Shakes.

12 Years A Slave is a stunningly powerful film,” said Legend. “I was so moved when I saw it. I felt every minute of it and was so inspired to contribute to the music of the soundtrack. This album brings together some incredible artists from different places and different genres who have all been touched by the film. When artists are inspired by great art, it makes us want to create. This album is the result of that inspiration.”

The 12 Years A Slave soundtrack is available for Pre-order now