Review: Om Unit Unifies Genres With ‘Threads’ LP


Deco’s Timescales, DJ Rashad’s Double Cup, and Om Unit’s Threads are among the recent albums to boost our faith in bass music’s post-dubstep momentum. All three albums synthesize some of electronic music’s most viral strains into vibrant, viable mutations, that while slightly imperfect are nevertheless wholly compelling and satisfying.

Threads, out now on Civil Music, is a natural progression for Britian’s Jim Coles, who in 2010 morphed into Om Unit after 10 years cranking out hip-hop bangers as 2tall. His hip-hop roots sprout up on Threads, faring better in a couple of cases than others, but fortunately Coles is also versed in jungle and footwork, and the album even includes a swoon worthy slow jam and a couple of hypnotic ambient interludes.

“Just Sayin’” featuring Gone the Hero opens with promise, sounding like a geisha’s lament before dropping the vibe into a few head-scratching bars that don’t linger very long or add much dimension to the instrumental. Conversely, “The Road,” featuring spoken word by hip hop poet and Blacktronica party founder Charlie Dark, makes for a lush, ominous outro that lingers just a tad too long.

Coles’ fusion fares much better pretty much everywhere else on the album. Opening with a cinematic instrumental piece “Folding Shadows,” Threads segues into “The Silence,” a haunting and rhapsodic slow jam featuring Jinadu, and “Healing Rain” which color the first half of the album in gauzy downtempo tones. Threads’ second half kicks up more of a rattling D&B vibe, at its strongest on the penultimate track, “Governers Bay.” All told, it’s an ambitious grab at a unifying sound that pushes both Coles and bass music to fascinating new levels.

To celebrate his tour that kicks of next week, Om Unit is giving away a 4-track EP, ‘Offcuts,’ which can be download for free on his Facebook page. Check the tour dates and stream Threads in full after the jump.

Threads Tracklist
01. Folding Shadows
02. feat. Jinadu – The Silence
03. Healing Rain
04. feat. Gone the Hero – Jus Sayin’
05. Drift Interlude
06. Reverse Logic
07. Corridor 2013
08. Nagual
09. feat. MC Jabu – Patients
10. Deep Sea Pyramid
11. Wall of Light
12. Jaguar
13. Wicker and Pearl
14. Governer’s Bay
15. feat. Charlie Dark – The Road

Om Unit Tour Dates
11.26: Whistler, Canada @ Maxx Fish
11.27: Calgary, Canada @ Hi-Fi Club
11.28: Edmonton, Canada @ Twist Ultra Lounge
11.29: Vancouver, Canada @ Red Gate
11.30: Portland, OR @ The Rose Bar
12.03: Baltimore, MD @ Red Maple
12.05: Boston, MA @ Phoenix Landing
12.07: New York, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (w/ Machinedrum)
12.08: Austin, TX @ Barcelona
12.09: Orlando, FL @ Bullit Bar
12.10: Denver, CO @ Cervantes Other Side
12.11: New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
12.12: San Francisco, CA @ 1015 Folsom