YouTube Music Awards: Watch The Live Stream, See The List Of Winners

The first-ever YouTube Music Awards took place in New York City on Sunday (Nov. 3) night. The event, streamed live on the video site (and above,) and was hosted by actor Jason Schwartzman (Rushmore, HBO’s Bored to Death) and comedian/musician Reggie Watts.

The inaugural YouTube Awards were based on YouTube subscriber video views, likes, comments, and subscriptions since September 2012. Categories included Video of the Year, YouTube Phenomenon, YouTube Breakthrough, Response of the Year, Innovation of the Year and more, with the likes of Justin Bieber, Macklemore, Lady Gaga, Eminem, Katy Perry, PSY, Taylor Swift and more nominated in the categories.

The awards show kicked off with live streams from music events in Moscow, Rio de Janeiro, London, Seoul, and Tokyo, and included performances from M.I.A., Tyler the Creator, Eminem, Arcade Fire, Lady Gaga and Avicii during its NYC transmission. Each live performance in NYC was filmed as a one-take music video during the awards show thanks to stages created at the massive venue on Pier 36. M.I.A. performed “Come Walk With Me,” Lady Gaga performed “Dope,” Eminem performed “Rap God,” Arcade Fire created a video for “Afterlife,” to name a few.

Expect the videos for the songs to turn up on YouTube shortly. A list of nominees and winners for the inaugural YouTube Music Awards is below.

Video of the Year
Demi Lovato – “Heart Attack”
Epic Rap Battles of History – “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney”
Girls’ Generation – “I Got A Boy”
Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj) – “Beauty And A Beat”
Lady Gaga – “Applause”
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) – “Same Love”
Miley Cyrus – “We Can’t Stop”
One Direction – “Best Song Ever”
PSY – “Gentleman”
Selena Gomez – “Come & Get It”

Artist of the Year
Epic Rap Battles of History
Justin Bieber
Katy Perry
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Nicki Minaj
One Direction
Taylor Swift

Response of the Year
Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) – “Mirrors”
Jayesslee – “Gangnam Style”
Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix – “Radioactive”
ThePianoGuys – “Titanium / Pavane”
Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX) – “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Phenomenon
“Gangnam Style
“Harlem Shake”
“I Knew You Were Trouble”
“Thrift Shop”

YouTube Breakthrough
Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Naughty Boy

Innovation of the Year
Anamanaguchi – “ENDLESS FANTASY”
Atoms For Peace – “Ingenue”
Bat For Lashes – “Lilies”
DeStorm – “See Me Standing”
Toro Y Moi – “Say That”