AAFCA To Honor Six At Their 5th Annual Dinner In 2014

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) is the premiere organization representing film journalists of African descent in the world. For 2014, the AAFCA is honoring the top entertainment industry players both in front of the camera and behind the scenes. The official date for the ceremony has been set for Friday, Jan. 31, 2014 in Hollywood, Calif. This year the AAFCA is celebrating their fifth year holding this event, and have already chosen six film industry veterans who have pushed the film industry to the highest standards of diversity.

For 2014, AAFCA has designated their 2014 Special Achievement Awards to go to:

The Weinstein Company (TWC) founders Bob and Harvey Weinstein [Cinema Vanguard Award]

Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (AMPAS) President Cheryl Boone Isaac [Horizon Award]

Director’s Guild Association (DGA) President Paris Barclay [Legacy Award]

Fox Searchlight’s Senior Vice President of Production Zola Mashariki [Ashley Boone Award]

Variety’s Senior Film Critic, Justin Chang [AAFCA’s Inaugural Roger Ebert Award]

“This year our Special Achievement Awards will celebrate the careers of individuals who have demonstrated a consistent commitment to diversity and also have delivered the highest level of professional standards throughout their careers,” says Gil Robertson IV, AAFCA president and founder. “Our 2014 honorees are all champions whose vision and hard work have produced results that everyone can admire.”