Friday Rewind: 9 EDM Essentials For Your Rotation


The hottest electronic dance music to kickoff your weekend starts here:

1. Paul Oakenfold – “Cafe del Mar” (Remixes)
Paul Oakenfold’s ‘Trance Mission’ album, due for release in the spring will feature fresh and exciting cover versions of ten of Oakenfold’s all time favorite trance records. Oakenfold kicks off the album with what is arguably the biggest trance record of all time; Cafe del Mar receives some major reworking from the likes of Activa, Angry Man, and Peetu S. Listen up.

2. Mighty Mouse – “Shaker Faker”
Mighty Mouse gets vibey with the melodic-driven “Shaker Faker”. A stunning xylophone led beat will get you feeling loose. Cop the free download.

3. Chocolate Puma – “Afrika”
Modern House legends Chocolate Puma’s “Afrika” is all about the full on tribal assault and thumping rhythm. The upbeat and catchy drums will get inside your head, making your whole body shake to the beat. Get stompin to this sexy new beat.

4. WhiteNoize & Nima G – “Haters Get Mad”
Spinning a certain Soulja boy sample on its head, this is one collab you don’t want to miss out on.
“Haters Get Mad” is a funky deep house track filled with bass and and ghetto house flavor. Listen up.

5. Joachim Garraud – “Music Maestro Please” (Extended Mix)
This is what you call musical madness. A dramatic orchestra of chords builds, a corky vocal vocal sample pipes up, and electro mayhem ensues. The free download serves as a warm-up to Garraud’s forthcoming single, “Everybody,”

6. W&W – “Bigfoot”
2014 hasn’t officially started unless W&W have fired the starting gun. Well here it is, going by the name of “Bigfoot”. Listen up.

7. Fake Blood – “Get Myself Together”
“Get Myself Together” enlists another bouncing beat with a little garagey inflexion. Dramatic sampled string stabs add to the vintage feel, the uncluttered production letting the powerful mid-90s house vocals take centre stage. Be sure to check out the entire ‘Waiting’ EP out now; it’s a juicy slam-dunk.

8. Stanton Warriors – “Romantica”
The beat of the drums will make your heart will go pitter-patter. Stanton Warriors dig into the vaults of their early garage days. The guys commented, “It’s an old favourite of ours, so we dug it out of the vaults to give away, with all of our love, on this day of St. Valentine!”. Cop the free download.

9. Tristan Garner – Xtra Life Episode 001
Tristan Garner goes in hard with his inaugural Xtra Life Episode number one. Jam-packed with the edgiest new beats in the French DJ/producer’s unique style, the radio show brilliantly showcases Garner’s brand new single, “Imperium” which is out now on Dim Mak. Check it out.