Exclusive Stream: Jesse Saunders Presents 30 Years Of House


One of house music’s founding fathers, Jesse Saunders was responsible or the the first-ever house record release 30 years ago. Today, Saunders, joins the Good For You Records family for ‘Jesse Saunders Presents The 30th Anniversary Of House Music,’ compiled and mixed by Jesse and GFY label’s Kenny Summit, celebrating a milestone for house fans worldwide. The package is fully loaded with two hours of dance floor heat from seminal house heads Eric Kupper, DJ Meme, Inaya Day, Chuck Love, Terrence Parker, Ross Couch and more, alongside dance-floor gems from Jesse and Kenny themselves. This stellar double album features 2 heavenly DJ mixes from Jesse and Kenny, designed to bring nations and decades of jackers together… all in the name of house.

Jesse Saunders is the architect of what we all know as House Music, using a blueprint of old school funk, disco, R&B, early pop and hip-hop. He wrote, produced and released the first documented House record titled ‘On & On’ in 1984 through his own label Jes Say Records. He went on to pen hits including ‘Funk U Up,’ ‘Real Love’, ‘Body Music’ and the platinum selling single ‘Love Can’t Turn Around’, which served as the foundation for a funky and soulful new sound in electronic music. Jesse has appeared in countless documentaries, magazine publications, books and conferences (WMC, ADE, RBMA, among many!) over the years and has also written his own semi-autobiography “House Music…The Real Story’. He has released countless successful singles and albums on his own labels Jes Say and Broken Records and has worked with and influenced key DJs such as Grammy Award winner Roger Sanchez, Marshall Jefferson, DJ Pierre, Farley “Jackmaster” Funk, Steve Hurley and the late Frankie Knuckles, among others.

‘Jesse Saunders presents The 30th Anniversary of House Music’ will be released September 7 on Good For You Records, but you can stream it below exclusively on VIBE.

Track Listing
1. Chuck Love – Hands Go Up
2. Christi Mills & Mike Eyia – Spoken Deep
3. Arnheim & Tommie Cotton – Just Say
4. DJ Rene – A Night In Philly
5. Didier Vanelli – Never Hold Me Down
6. Dom Scott & MJ White – Into The Gold
7. Inaya Day – Time Is Now
8. Jesse Saunders & LeA Robinson – Dance The Night Away (Melodymann Remix)
9. Jesse Saunders – Now That We Found Love
10. Jesse Saunders – One & On (2014 Beat Don’t Stop Remix)
11. Mr. Qwertz & Andrea Love – Best of Me
12. Quentin Kane – Enter The Dragon
13. Scott Langley – Pure Love
14. Sound Syndicate Featuring Donna Summer – Love To Love You Baby