Rewind! 10 EDM Releases To Kickoff Labor Day Weekend


Kickoff the long blissful Labor Day Weekend with these recent dance music releases, curated by DJ, producer and vocalist Lea Luna.

1. Fei Fei- “Little White Lies”
LA producer Fei Fei has seen a few genre trends come and go during her career, and she always seems to be ahead of the game. After recent accomplishments on all sides of the bass music genre, “Little White Lies” goes straight for the heart, pushing the boundaries of trap into nearly a downtempo realm, with dreamy emotional tones and pitched vocals throughout the whole thing that will force even the most roughneck bass music fan to feel something greater than a typical drop.

2. Bastille – “Bad Blood” (Dave Aude remix)
With an impressive number of successful official remixes for major artists under his belt, Dave Aude is really the only qualified remixer to do justice for a group like Bastille, whose riveting lyrics and impressive songwriting has earned major commercial success globally. To remix such an emotional track like “Bad Blood” into a dance track is a hefty feat to accomplish, but Dave Aude not only kept the mood of the original in tact, he truly took the mood to new heights on this one.

3. Amtrac- “Those Days”
Toolroom has some brand new heat from Amtrac, a total scorcher entitled “Those Days” that drops seriously surging basslines throughout a deep masterpiece featuring a looping vocal that adds a very classy vibe reminiscent of classic house.

4. Tiësto- “Say Something”
Heartbroken lovers everywhere fell to their knees when the original “Say Something” by A Great Big World and Christina Aguilera came out. A simple chord progression and emotional lyric hooked the listeners in. Now, Tiësto has adopted that song, as well as a different vocalist, to create a subdued yet beautiful deep progressive version, allowing dance music fans to heal their hearts as summer love fades away.

5. Chris Lake- “Squeak” (Tom Piper remix)
Here’s a fun party track aptly named “Squeak” for the interesting sounds in the original. Tom Piper’s new spin on this Ultra Records jam from Chris Lake is climbing the charts in Australia as we speak, and has just hit the US to do the same.

6. Keys N Krates- “Are We Faded”
“Are We Faded” by Canadian live electronic three-piece group Keys and Krates is a pretty unique twist on trap. The choppy sample edits and pretty plucks frame the bass heavy beats well, with a little seasoning of amen drums on the builds. This one is not too heavy, not too floaty. It’s a pleasantly different sound for the party label Dim Mak.

7. Alesso- “Heroes”
Alesso is back, and making his Def Jam debut with an uplifting festival track entitled “Heroes” featuring a beautiful vocal by an unlisted singer called Tove Lo. The positive lyrics and happy chord progressions will make you smile. Upon it’s debut, Alesso said “I feel I mean every single word of this song and I hope you love it too!”

8. Moon Boots- “Don’t Ask Why” feat. Kyiki
Fresh out on Beatport, Moon Boots and Kyiki have released a one of a kind vocal electronic creation that will light up your life with it’s unique and cheerful sound. The release includes three dancefloor remixes worth checking out as well.

9. Rewind Bonus: David Guetta’s Labor Day 60-minute megamix
Wondering what one of the biggest DJs in the world is playing this Labor Day weekend? Look no further, David Guetta has a full hour mix up on soundcloud including a full tracklist, as well as a cameo of his newest track “Lovers on the Sun” featuring Sam Martin.

10. Rewind Double-Bonus: RAM Drum & Bass USA Vol. 3: Chords Minimix
Are you not wondering at all what Monsieur Guetta is playing this Labor Day weekend? How about some sick throwback Drum & Bass straight from RAM recordings instead? Loadstar, Andy C, and Subfocus bring you this little slice of DnB heaven, with a blessing from Andy C that says: “I’m hoping that people listen to the compilation and get a sense of history, where we’re coming from; that they get a feel for the genre; and that they want to jump on board the ride for where we’re gonna go next.”