Lauryn Hill, Timbaland, Jeremih And More Honored At 2015 ASCAP Rhythm And Soul Awards

Music News

Industry legends filled up the guest list at the 28th Rhythm & Soul Music Awards by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). Top songwriters and publishers of R&B, hip hop, rap and gospel music received honors at the Beverly Hills ceremony for their 2014 contributions (June 25).

Timbaland and Jay Z tied for the top honor of Songwriter of the Year as well as won Top R&B/Hip Hop Song with Beyoncé for “Drunk In Love.” “Show Me” earned writers Kid Ink and Jeremih the award for Top Rap Song and Bart Millard took home Top Gospel Song for “I Can Only Imagine.”

SEE ALSO: Beyonce And Jay Z’s Joint Album Has Been Confirmed… Sort Of

Additionally, Sony/ATV Tunes LLC earned the Publisher of the Year Award for tracks by Drake, Tinashe, T.I., John Legend, Lil Wayne, Iggy Azalea, Usher, Pharrell Williams, Erica Campbell, Sevyn Streeter, Kid Ink, Future, Chris Brown, Lorde, Michelle Williams, Sam Smith, Young Money and Jhené Aiko.

Other recipients produced music by K Camp, Zacardi Cortez, Tasha Cobbs, Isaac Carree, Hezekiah Walker, Erica Campbell, James Fortune and FIYA, Smokie Norful, Jason Nelson, Micah Stampley, William McDowell, Rich Homie Quan, August Alsina, Bobby Shmurda, DJ Khaled, and Migos.

SEE ALSO: ASCAP And BMI Reveal Songwriters Fail To Receive Proper Royalties From Music Streaming Sites

ASCAP honored Grammy Award-winning Lauryn Hill with its Golden Note Award. Every year, the organization presents the Golden Note Award to the songwriter, artist or composer who has “achieved extraordinary career milestones.” Hill joins past honorees such as Pharrell Williams, Dr. Dre, Alicia Keys, Diddy, LL Cool J, Jermaine Dupri, Jay Z, Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Quincy Jones and Elton John.

Hill performing throughout the night as well as Migos, D.R.A.M., Jazmine Sullivan and Smokie Norful. Check out a photo recap of the night’s events.

Photo Credit: ASCAP