Chance The Rapper Chance The Rapper

Chance The Rapper Will Show Just How Much "Family Matters" With His New Tour

Get your coins together for the Chi-Town artist's brand new collaborative tour.

UPDATE: All guests have been announced, and the tour family includes Chance The Rapper, Towkio, D.R.A.M. and Metro Boomin.

It's all about family for Chance The Rapper, and this fall he makes things perfectly clear with his newly announced Family Matters Tour. The "Acid Rap" emcee is hitting cities big and small all throughout domestic territory and a few Canadian spots.

The lengthy performance quest will lead in on five consecutive days starting in the Lone Star state this October and ending in the West Coast's City of Angels late November. Today, he's rolling out the tour guest appearances one at a time and the first up to bad is previous collaborator, Towkio. Considering the success of his recent Pitchfork Fest closeout, we're counting on the Chi-town rapper to follow that up with some other pretty dope collaborations.

READ: Review: The Only Thing To Say About Donnie Trumpet, Chance The Rapper and SoX’s ‘Surf’ Is Thank You

Mr. Bennett clearly has a thing for social media announcements, as he fittingly revealed that he's expecting a little one right before the Family Matters expenditure. The colorful artwork adds a fine touch, too.

READ: Chance The Rapper Took Some Chicago Kids To The Planetarium Because That’s What Awesome People Do

Check out the list of tour dates here:

  • October 11- Austin, TX
  • October 13- St. Louis, MO
  • October 14- Kansas City, MO
  • October 15- Minneapolis, MN
  • October 16- Milwaukee, WI
  • October 18- Detroit, MI
  • October 19- Toronto, ON
  • October 21- Montreal, QU
  • October 22- Philadelphia, PA
  • October  23- New York, NY
  • October 27- Boston, MA
  • October 29- Richmond, VA
  • October 31- Live Oak, FL
  • November 1- New Orleans, LA
  • November 2- Atlanta, GA
  • November 5- St. Petersburg, FL
  • November 7- Miami, FL
  • November 8- TBA
  • November 9- Raleigh, NC
  • November 10- Charlotte, NC
  • November 12- Houston, TX
  • November 13- Dallas, TX
  • November 15- Albequerque, NM
  • November 16- Denver, CO
  • November 17- Salt Lake City, UT
  • November 23- San Diego, CA
  • November 25- Los Angeles, CA

Purchase tickets for both general admission and VIP here.


From the Web

More on Vibe

Mike Pont

R. Kelly Sends Birthday Video To Daughter Through Instagram

During his viral interview with Gayle King earlier this month, R. Kelly tearfully revealed that he has no relationship with his three children. But possibly in an attempt to reestablish that connection with at least one of them, the R&B singer sent an Instagram video message wishing his daughter a happy birthday on Wednesday (Mar. 20).

In the video, Kelly cheerfully sang a soulful rendition of "The Happy Birthday Song," followed by a special message to his daughter. "Happy Birthday, baby. Daddy loves you. I love you. No matter what, I love you so much," he said.

Ordinarily, there wouldn't be anything newsworthy about a father sending love to his daughter on her birthday, but the video comes at a very unique time. Kelly recently spent several days in jail for an outstanding balance in back child support. The court determined that he owed his ex-wife Drea Kelly nearly $200,000 in child support payments that covered the kids' education, health and living expenses.

Additionally, the video message arrives nearly three months after Joann – also known as Buku Abi – released a lengthy statement in response to her father's ongoing sexual abuse case. She referred to her father as a "monster" and alluded to unpleasant interactions with him when she was a child. "I would never want anyone to feel the pain I have felt," she wrote in the Jan. 2019 message. "The same monster you all confronting me about is my father. I am well aware of who and what he is. I grew up in that house. My choice to not speak on him and what he does is for peace of mind."

Watch R. Kelly's video message below.


View this post on Instagram


Family for life 🎹🎤🙏🏽 🎂

A post shared by R Kelly (@rkelly) on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:12pm PDT

Continue Reading
Roc-A-Fella Records

Jay-Z's 'The Blueprint' Album To Be Inducted Into The Library Of Congress

People will be learning about Jay-Z's music for years to come. Hov's sixth studio album, The Blueprint is reportedly among 25 records to be inducted into the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry, CBS News reports.

The registry's inductees are determined by their cultural, artistic, and historic significance in America's music industry. It spans across all genres – hip-hop, pop, rock, classical, gospel, and Broadway.

The list also includes music from Earth, Wind, & Fire ("September") Nina Simone ("Mississippi Goddam"), Curtis Mayfield ("Super Fly"), and an excerpt from Robert F. Kennedy's 1968 speech where he announced the death of Martin Luther King Jr.

Jay released The Blueprint in 2001. It was the first of a three-part series. Despite the album's release coinciding with the Sep. 11 terrorist attacks, the album sold 427,000 units in its opening week and debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200. It was also certified platinum by the RIAA.

The new honor comes nearly two years after Jigga was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in June 2017. The Brooklyn native will be joining an elite bunch who were previously inducted into the Library of Congress, including the Jackson 5, John Coltrane, and David Bowie.

Continue Reading
Getty Images

Janelle Monae, Lil Wayne To Perform At Lollapalooza 2019

Janelle Monae, Lil Wayne, Team Imapala, Slash, and J. Balvin are among the artists who will be taking the stage for Lollapalooza 2019, festival organizers revealed Tuesday (March 19).

Lolla's partial performance list was unveiled in a nearly 14:00-minute interactive video featuring dogs up for adoption at PAWS Chicago. The pups move around in a makeshift playpen filled with plastic balls that reveal the images of the acts billed to perform at this year’s festival. The list also includes, Lil Baby and his “Close Friends” collaborator, Gunna, along with Lil Skies, French artist Madeon, Spanish singer ROSALÍA, electronic act Yaeji, and Australian dance group Rufus Du Sol.

Lollapalooza returns to Chicago’s Grant Park Aug. 1-4. It’s unclear when the full list of performers will be announced. As for tickets, 4-day general admission passes are on sale for $360 a pop, while VIP tickets will run music fans $2,200. One-day general admission passes haven't gone on sale yet but will cost $130 each, and a single-day VIP ticket comes with a $650 price tag.

Click here for ticketing info. Watch video of the lineup unveil below.

Continue Reading

Top Stories