dr dre
Getty Images

Dr. Dre Completely Scraps "Detox" Album, Reveals Date For "Straight Outta Compton" Inspired Project

Dr. Dre just revealed some major news that's good and bad.

During "The Pharmacy" radio show on Beats 1 Saturday evening (Aug. 1), the Cali native said his long-awaited album, Detox, is no more. "I didn't like it," Dre admitted, stating that he didn't want to disappoint the fans with subpar music. "I don't think I did a good enough job," he added.

READ: Dr. Dre Discusses Upcoming NWA Biopic ‘Straight Outta Compton’

The good news though is the confirmation of a new project inspired by the F. Gary Gray-directed movie Straight Outta Compton. The famed rapper/producer said after seeing the film's process he was moved to put together Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre, which features Kendrick Lamar, Eminem, BJ the Chicago Kid, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, Marsha Ambrosius and more.


READ: 7 Things We Want To See In N.W.A.’s ‘Straight Outta Compton’ Biopic

#Compton Dr. Dre’s grand finale. Pre-order the album now. (link in bio)

A photo posted by Apple Music (@applemusic) on

The record arrives Aug. 7 ahead of the reel's theatrical debut a week later. Check out the tracklist below and pre-order the record on iTunes.

1) “Intro” (Dr. Dre)
2) “Talk About It” Feat. King Mez & Justus
3) “Genocide” Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay
4) “It’s All On Me” Feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid
5) “All In a Day’s Work” Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius
6) “Darkside/Gone” Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar
7) “Loose Cannons” Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um
8) “Issues” Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak
9) “Deep Water” Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus
10) “One Shot One Kill” Feat. Snoop Dogg
11) “Just Another Day” Feat. Asia Bryant
12) “For the Love of Money” Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor
13) “Satisfiction” Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez
14) “Animals” Feat. Anderson Paak
15) “Medicine Man” Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak
16) “Talking To My Diary” (Dr. Dre)

From the Web

More on Vibe

Nipsey Hussle Makes Final Appearance In DJ Khaled's "Higher" Video

Nearly two months after Nipsey Hussle's death, DJ Khaled dropped the visual for his single "Higher," featuring the South LA artist and John Legend. The music video serves as Nip's final appearance.

The Eif Rivera-directed video shows Legend playing the keys in the middle of Los Angeles. Nipsey, dressed in all blue, reminisces about growing up in the streets and looks back on memories with his family.

"Los Angeles love kind of like Hussle and Boog / Mani turned ten, Kross turned two," he raps about his wife, Lauren London and two kids. "Startin' to see this life sh*t from a bird's view / We the ones that made millions off the curb, fool / In this rap sh*t ten, never made nerd moves."

"Higher" is the latest single release from DJ Khaled's new album, Father of Asahd, which debuted on May 17. The music video arrives shortly after the mega-producer shared a statement, recalling his last moments with Nipsey.

"The very title of the song reminds us that vibrating on a 'Higher' level was the essence of Nipsey's soul," Khaled wrote before announcing that he would donate all of the proceeds from the song to Nipsey's family. "It is in this spirit, of moving forward, of preserving his mission that I, my co-writers, producers and label partners are donating 100% of all our proceeds from 'Higher' to Nipsey's children, Emani and Kross."

Watch the music video for "Higher" above.

Continue Reading
Getty Images

Common Details 2002 Breakup From Eyrkah Badu: "It Was Hard To Eat"

Common has been very generous with information about his personal life. In a new interview with People, the rapper opened up about his split from Erykah Badu in 2002 and the toll it took on him mentally and physically.

The couple reportedly dated for a couple of years in the early 2000s before calling it quits in 2002. According to Common, the split was really tough for him to handle. "With Erykah Badu, that was my first love where you’re just open and floating," he explained. "When we split, I was 27 or 28. I was in a haze, just going through the motions. It was hard to eat. It wasn’t her fault, the relationship just didn’t go forward."

That might have been his first heartbreak, but it surely wasn't his last. The Chicago native said his next breakup was just as painful. "I was in another breakup after that that was heavy," he continued. "That one honestly is what sent me to therapy."

Fortunately, Common said he isn't jaded and is "open to a relationship" in the future. "I know how to communicate like an adult now," he added. "I want to be the best partner I can be."

Common's latest comments come shortly after the actor stopped by The Breakfast Club on May 9, where he revealed that he has been going to therapy to work through issues associated with love addiction. "The pattern I found myself in—and my therapist broke it down—was the feeling of being in love and that honeymoon period," he said. "I was addicted to that feeling."

Continue Reading

City Girls Get "Careless" In New Music Video

In honor of the one-year anniversary of their debut project Period, City Girls has dropped a music video for their song "Careless."

The video stars the rap duo, Yung Miami and J.T., the latter who is currently serving a two-year sentence in Tallahassee. The visual directed by Gabriel "Video God" Hart, features the two rap divas sporting their iced out Quality Control chains rapping in the streets of what appears to be Miami. Both Yung Miami and J.T. are donning the same outfits, distressed jean shorts-underwear, a cropped Miami jersey with a white turtleneck underneath and the classic Timberland boots.

City Girls are showing exactly what they're made of as they rap about "living life so careless," and "h**s [being] so mad it's evident" with an entourage of women behind them. The short clip is full of fun-filled energy as the hot rappers bounce from location to location. Whether they're in a hotel room sipping on some Hennessy, in a store copping a couple of things, they still manage to get their bars off.

The visual is a good representation of what fans can expect from the rap duo, even more so if they see them in concert. Most recently Yung Miami performed the girls' big hit, "Act Up" at Rolling Loud with the help of Lil' Yachty, their co-collaborator on the song. Next up for Yung Miami is the Hot 97 Summer Jam on June 2 at the MetLife Stadium in New Jersey.

Make sure to check out their music video above and stream Period in celebration of its one-year anniversary.

Continue Reading

Top Stories