Erykah Badu Set To Drop 11 Feel-Good Tracks On ‘But You Cain’t Use My Phone’

The one and only Analog Girl In A Digital World is getting ready to drop a “whole new frequency” of musical gems on the world. After garnering a sizzling buzz in the web sphere with her remix to Drake’s latest single, “Hotline Bling,” the four-time Grammy Award-winning artist, Erykah Badu, is gearing up for the debut of her latest musical project, But You Cain’t Use My Phone.

While the compilation was produced, mixed and mastered by Zach Witnessin, the nine song and two interlude mixtape was created and completed over a period of 12 days in her home of Dallas, Texas. The “Phone Down” singer and one-man production team dedicated a lot of time to precise the mixing, toyed with EQs and other filters so that the sound’s frequency and vibration move in tandem to capture a feeling of “sympathetic vibration.”

WATCH: Erykah Badu Credits Her Son For Her Friendship With Drake

According to a press release, the sound of Badu’s first project since the 2010 release of New Amerykah Part Two is described as “TRap & B,” with the goal of creating a sound that brings peace and tranquility to its listener.

The 11-track body of work, which makes reference to telephones and our own reliance on staying inter-connected, will include several surprises along the way, including a few guests, all of who recorded their contributions in the same bedroom studio. But You Cain’t Use My Phone will be available exclusively on iTunes for one week, then on Apple Music before landing on all other streaming services beginning Dec. 4.

But You Caint Use My Phone Track List
1. Caint Use My Phone Suite
2. Hi
3. Cell U Lar Device
4. Phone Down
5. U Use To Call Me
6. Mr. Telephone Man
7. U Don’t Have To Call
8. Whats Yo Phone Number
9. Dial’afreaq
10. I’ll Call U Back
11. Hello

READ: Erykah Badu Takes Over VIBE's Twitter Account For #NSFW Week

Be sure to catch Ms. Erykah Badu hosting the co-produced 2015 Soul Train Awards and giving her first televised performance of “Phone Down” on Sunday (Nov. 29), at 8 p.m. ET on BET and Centric.

Tags: Erykah Badu