Latino Celebrities Turn To Instagram To Pay Respect To The Life & Legacy Of Prince

Just moments after the world learned Prince had died at 57, fans and fellow artists turned to social media to express their grievances and condolences. Not only did they mourn the loss of a brilliant man, but they equally celebrated the life and legacy of the global icon, whose influence spread across generations of music lovers.

READ: Mayte Garcia On Prince: “He Was My First Crush, My First Love”

Prince will always be remembered for his offbeat sense of fashion, unapologetically unfiltered way of life, his humanitarianism and psychedelic artistry, all of which came alive in albums that taught us about ourselves better than any parental discourse. He even touched the lives of some of the most influential Latinos in the world, including ex-wife Mayte Garcia, world-renowned guitarist Carlos Santana and beloved singer Marc Anthony.

Here’s to the Purple One: may he rest in power.

READ: Erykah Badu’s Heartfelt Poem To Prince Will Only Make You Cry Even More

R.I.P. my dear brother! Show them how it’s done up there master!

A photo posted by Marc Anthony (@marcanthony) on

Goodbye sweet Prince may you rest in peace 💧💔

A photo posted by Jackie Cruz (@msjackiecruz) on

Shocked and soooo sad!! #RIP PRINCE #music #legend #gonetoosoon

A photo posted by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

#youarenotforgotten

A photo posted by Vicky Jeudy #OITNB (@vickyjeudy) on

A photo posted by rosariodawson (@rosariodawson) on

You made your mark Prince and you will live on forever. #rip #Prince

A photo posted by Gina Rodriguez (@hereisgina) on

R. i. P. #Prince

A photo posted by Ricky (@ricky_martin) on

We have lost a genius this morning… #Prince #RIP

A photo posted by Zoe Saldana (@zoesaldana) on

To a legend that will forever live on, God bless. We will celebrate your life tonight. @prince

A photo posted by Pitbull (@pitbull) on

????????

A video posted by Angie Martinez (@angiemartinez) on

#RIP Prince. You have inspired a generation, a true icon will be missed. #longlivepurplerain

A photo posted by Joan Smalls (@joansmalls) on

Rest in peace to an amazing artist. You inspired so many people with your music. We all owe a debt to you #RIPPRINCE

A photo posted by Danny Trejo (@officialdannytrejo) on

always wanted to be the Kid… rest in paradise.

A photo posted by Mack Wilds (@mackwilds) on