Thundercat Announces More Awesomeness For The Soul With Third Album, ‘Drunk’


Thundercat is bridging the gap between the oldies and new soul with the release of “Show You The Way,” featuring Kenny Loggins and Michael McDonald. The silky smooth track will be just one of the many included on his third album, Drunk. 

READ Thundercat Brings The Easy-Going Vibes And Musicianship To Governors Ball

The follow-up to his 2015 project, The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam, will remind listeners of his distinctive talents. The album will feature a few of his creative pals like Kendrick Lamar, Wiz Khalifa, Kamasi Washington and of course, Flying Lotus. For his new single released Wednesday (Jan. 25), Thundercat is joined by personal heroes Kenny Loggins and Michael McDonald. Speaking to Red Bull Music Academy Daily, the Grammy-winner explained his chemistry with the OG’s of blue-eyed soul.

“These are guys that I’ve listened to and where I felt that I’ve learned that honesty in the music,” he said. “Kenny Loggins is one of my favorite songwriters. Loggins was the one that suggested bringing McDonald in on the track. I think one of the most beautiful moments of it was realizing how amazing Michael McDonald was. He would go through so many ideas and have so much to offer.”

Drunk will be released to the masses Feb. 24 and vinyl format on March 10.

Listen to “Show You the Way” here and see the full track listing below.

01. Rabbot Ho
02. Captain Stupido
03. Uh Uh
04. Bus In These Streets
05. A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
06. Lava Lamp
07. Jethro
08. Day & Night
09. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11. Blackkk
12. Tokyo
13. Jameel’s Space Ride
14. Friend Zone
15. Them Changes
16. Where I’m Going
17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
18. Inferno
19. I Am Crazy
20. 3AM
21. Drunk
22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
23. DUI

READ Watch BADBADBNOTGOOD’s Soothing ‘Tiny Desk’ Concert