2015 iHeartRadio Music Festival - Night 2 - Show
Getty Images

This Unsuspecting Country Keeps Biggie Smalls' Music In Heavy Rotation

Biggies most loyal streamers are overseas 

Biggie Smalls' influence continues to be recognized all over the world, that Spotify now claims his music has found a new home outside of the United States. According to the streaming service, the Brooklyn MC's music is most popular in New Zealand.

Born Christopher Wallace, the famed lyricist remains one of the most impactful rappers since he stepped in the game, and his force behind music is not slowing up. As we remember Biggie 20 years after his death, Spotify breaks down his top tracks, the top listening countries and more.

The "Hypnotize" rapper's multiple flows made him appealing to many, but which songs are his most appealing? Which tracks are hot on the East and West Coasts? Check out Spotify's tallies below.

Top Tracks Overall (all time)

  1. "Hypnotize"
  2. "Juicy"
  3. "Big Poppa"
  4. "Mo Money Mo Problems" (feat. Mase & Puff Daddy)
  5. "Notorious Thugs" (feat. Bone Thugs N Harmony)
  6. "Nasty Girl" (feat. Diddy, Nelly, Jagged Edge and Avery Storm)
  7. "Gimme The Loot"
  8. "Who Shot Ya"
  9. "Hold Ya Head" (feat. Bob Marley)
  10. "Ten Crack Commandments"

Order Of Countries That Listen To Biggie Smalls

  1. New Zealand
  2. Australia
  3. Ireland
  4. Canada
  5. United Kingdom
  6. Bulgaria
  7. United States
  8. Norway
  9. Iceland
  10. Switzerland

Listeners' Favorite Tracks Based Off Of East Coast & West Coast Residents

  1. "Old Thing Back" (feat. Ja Rule and Ralph Tresvant)
  2. "Victory" (feat. The Notorious B.I.G. & Busta Rhymes)
  3. "Dead Wrong" (feat. Eminem)
  4. "Gimme The Loot"
  5. "Mo Money Mo Problems" (feat. Mase & Puff Daddy)
  6. "Ten Crack Commandments"
  7. "Last Day" (feat. The Lox)
  8. "Angels"
  9. "Warning"
  10. "It's All About The Benjamins" (feat. The Notorious B.I.G., Lil' Kim & The Lox) - Remix

 West Coast

  1. "Big Poppa" - 2016 Remastered
  2. "Only You-Bad Boy Remix" (feat. The Notorious B.I.G. & Mase)
  3. "Juicy"
  4. "Notorious Thugs"
  5. "Hypnotize"
  6. "Runnin' (Dying To Live)"
  7. "Suicidal Thoughts"
  8. "Going Back To Cali"
  9. "Mo Money Mo Problems" (feat. Mase & Puff Daddy)
  10. "Da B Side" - Squeaky Clean

From the Web

More on Vibe

Getty Images

Bryson Tiller Announces Deluxe Edition Of ‘Trapsoul’ Debut

Update: 12:42 AM EST (Sept. 26, 2020) — Stream the deluxe installment of Trapsoul below.

Original story below...

Ahead of the release of his highly anticipated new album, Bryson Tiller is giving fans another chance to fall deeper in love with Trapsoul. The Grammy-nominated singer announced that he will be releasing a deluxe version of his debut album to streaming service this Friday (Sept. 25).

The deluxe edition will feature fan favorites “Just Another Interlude” and “Self Righteous,” Tiller tweeted on Tuesday (Sept. 22). “Before we get into my new album, I wanna celebrate with this special edition of my debut album, 'Trapsoul.' Featuring a few songs that didn’t quite make the cut.”

before we get into my new album, I wanna celebrate with this special edition of my debut album, Trapsoul. Featuring a few songs that didn’t quite make the cut. Y’all asked for these on All Platforms and they’ll finally be yours this Friday. thank you! pic.twitter.com/8MJ5rC5jYB

— tiller (@brysontiller) September 23, 2020

Released in 2015, Tiller’s debut album put him on the map, and earned a Billboard Music Awards nomination for Top R&B Album. The triple platinum release, lead single “Don’t” cracked the Top 20 on the Billboard singles charts becoming his highest charting solo effort to date.

Earlier in the month, Tiller released the music video for his song “Inhale” which samples Mary J. Blige’s “Not Gon' Cry.” The end of the video reveals that Tiller’s new album will drop sometime this fall.

Watch “Inhale” below.

Continue Reading
Getty Images

Judge Sides With Nicki Minaj In Tracy Chapman Court Battle

A judge has sided with Nicki Minaj in her legal dispute with Tracy Chapman. U.S. District Judge Virginia A. Phillips ruled that Minaj’s song “Sorry” falls under the “fair use” and not copyright infringement as Chapman claimed, Variety reports.

Minaj was reportedly unaware that her song, “Sorry,” featured lyrics and a bit of the melody from Chapman’s 1988 track, “Baby Can I Hold You” when it was recorded. She  reached out to Chapman to get permission to use the song but was ultimately turned down. Since she couldn't get legal clearance, the track never made it to the Queen album, but Chapman’s attorneys accused Minaj of leaking the track to Funkmaster Flex. Although Minaj confirmed sending Flex an Instagram message about the song, she denies actually sending it. “I had a change of heart,” she later testified. “I never sent the recording.”

Flex said that he obtained the recording from a “blogger,” not Minaj.

In her decision, Judge Phillips reportedly noted that artists tend to “experiment” with music before they attempt to get proper licensing.

“Artists usually experiment with works before seeking licenses from rights holders and rights holders typically ask to see a proposed work before approving a license,” the judge wrote. “A ruling uprooting these common practices would limit creativity and stifle innovation within the music industry.”

Despite the ruling, the question remains over whether or not Minaj should be held liable for the song being leaked. Last month, Minaj’s attorneys filed court papers requesting that Chapman’s motion for a summary judgment be denied in full.

Continue Reading
Getty Images

Big Sean Debuts ‘Deep Reverence’ Feat. Nipsey Hussle

Big Sean delivered his collaboration with Nipsey Hustle “Deep Reverence” on Monday (Aug. 24). The 32-year-old rapper decided to drop the song after  finishing up his highly anticipated Detroit 2 album due out next week.

“My heart and my gut was saying not only do people deserve that song right now,”  Sean tweeted on Tuesday (Aug. 25). “I felt like hearing nips [sic] voice, his presence and the energy of the song itself was needed and deserved it’s own moment!”

A snippet of the song debuted during Hit-Boy and Boi1da's Verzuz battle in April. Sean said that he has wanted to release the song ever since then.

“My label (a few people there, not the whole label) thought it wasn’t smart to put this song out ahead of my album, they told my team I should hold on to it...they still supported my decision in the end tho [sic],” he explained in another tweet.

The record opens with a clever and poignant verse from Nipsey. “F*ck rap I’m a street legend, block love me with a deep reverence,” he raps. “I was birthed in a C-section/Hella cops and police presence, we got opps so we keep weapons. We on y’all block while y’all eat breakfast. A lot of shots, we broke street records. Watch how you talk, I got reflexes.”


View this post on Instagram


Rest In Power bro! The World miss you n need to hear your voice! DEEP REVERENCE OUT NOW 🏁💙🙏🏾 Prod by. @hitboy & @g.ryomo

A post shared by BIGSEAN (@bigsean) on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:07pm PDT

On Sean’s verse, he reveals that he reached out to Kendrick Lamar after Nipsey was killed and addresses the alleged beef between him and the Compton MC. Fans also believe that he hinted at  Jhené Aiko suffering a miscarriage. “Should be a billionaire based on the time off I’m not takin,’” raps Sean. “Probably why the sh*t with me got crazy and we lost a baby.”

Detroit 2 is executive produced by Hit-Boy, Sean and Kanye West. The album drops on Sept. 4.

Listen to “Deep Reverence” below.


View this post on Instagram


My fifth album #Detroit2 September 4th 🌎✊🏾🌹🖤 🌟 🙏🏾

A post shared by BIGSEAN (@bigsean) on Aug 24, 2020 at 11:15am PDT

Continue Reading

Top Stories