Ghostface Killah Releases Thirteenth Solo Album ‘The Lost Tapes’

Music News

Ghostface Killah strikes again. For the thirteenth time with a solo album, The Lost Tapes released Friday (Oct. 5). The album marks Killah’s first release on the L.A.-based X-Ray Records under the division of Cleopatra Records. His last album came out three years ago.

The Lost Tapes, according to critics and Ghostface Killah fans alike say that the album’s musical sound is comparable to the Staten Island MC’s prior work such as 1995’s Ironman and 2000’s Supreme Clientele. Running 42 minutes long with 13 tracks, Killah reunited with his fellow Wu-Tang Clan members Masta Killa, Raekwon, and Cappadonna while collaborating with his rap OG peers Snoop Dogg, E-40 and Big Daddy Kane.

Probably the most surprising feature on the album is two tracks that the rapper has with actor-turned-podcast-host Michael Rapaport. Production wise, the collection features heavy influences of Mafioso rap and sounds that one would hear out of classic action films. The cover art also matches the theme of the album, featuring the Super Mario video game character Boo with a Jason Voorhees mask rocking a snapback and a gold chain armed with a semi-automatic gun.

Some of the tracks gaining the most traction on music streaming services thus far are “Buckingham,” “Saigon Velour,” “Done It Again” and “Watch ‘Em Holla.”

Killah’s previous album Twelve Reasons to Die II was released in 2015 collaborating with composer Adrian Younge peaked at No. 14 on the R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and No. 11 on the Independent Charts, respectively.

READ MORE: Ghostface Killah & Method Man Kick it With James Comey On ‘Colbert’