DAWN Readies ‘New Breed’ Album

Music News

Two years has passed since DAWN blessed the masses with a new full-length project. Now, the Louisiana native is ready to cut the cord on that hiatus and release a new project titled new breed (Local Action Records/Our Dawn Ent.).

The project will highlight the Danity Kane singer’s New Orleans roots through sound, lyrics, and overall visual presentation. It’ll also span 10 tracks. The album, which is directed by its recently released title track, will debut on Jan. 25, 2019.

A press release describes new breed as “Presenting a duality between the more soulful sounds of the city’s more traditional forms of R&B and DAWN’s own innovative brand of electronic sonics, new breed sees DAWN at her most eclectic, drawing on a wide range of influences and, alongside contributions from the likes of Cole M.G.N (Christine & The Queens, Ariel Pink), Kaveh Rastegar (John Legend, Sia) and Hudson Mohawke, has been largely self-produced.”

DAWN recently linked with Aubrey O’Day and Shannon Bex of Danity Kane to tour across the country. DAWN was formerly a part of the group in the early 2000s, but they went their solo ways for a brief period of time.

1. the nine (intro)
2. new breed
3. spaces
4. dreams and converse
5. shades
6. jealousy
7. sauce
8. vultures | wolves
9. we, diamonds
10. ketchup and po boys (outro)

READ MORE: Dawn Shows Fans Her View Of New Orleans In “Jealousy” Video

Tags: Dawn